Fragments of Memories . . .

A month has passed since my old PC died so I seldom went online. It was frustrating because a lot of things happened and I can barely remember them now. Only fragments of memories remain within — awaiting salvation. LoL!

Meiko's Pink Birthday~

Claribelle and I celebrated our birthdays together with the rest of the barkada. As usual, I am the only one in a dress and they were wearing jeans! Toni showed us a restaurant showcasing all sorts of Coca-cola memorabilia, which has been aptly named The Real Thing Diner. Their main color is red with a splash of white in between. The shelves beside the main entrance are donned with mugs, stuffed toys, bottles, and other trinkets. Another shelf is located atop the windowpane which is decorated with soda cans of varying designs. There is also a wide-screen TV playing Coke commercials dating back from the 80’s! How’s the food? Well, definitely not the best among the lot but the taste is just right. Another cool thing is that this is the one-and-only restaurant serving Royal True-Orange floats (AFAIK)! I felt so bad that I left Epiphany at home (darn rain)!!!

Farewell party for THE Boss

 My boss bid farewell since he has been assigned to another department. Even though it was a tearjerker moment, I just thought that we have to continue the legacy that he started (charing~). The team had its“probable” final get-together in Sis Seafood Bar and Restaurant. The guys bought the ingredients from a nearby wet market then the restaurant crew cooked and served them. Even though I am not fond of seafood, I still loved their Baked Tahong and their Sinigang na Sugpo. I wished my stomach was bigger so I can devour more! Yum! This is also the first time that I had a vast amount of alcohol intake (and hopefully my last)!

Ricky, Sheree, me and Jeff

Some colleagues and I watchedKasambuhay, Habambuhay which was (sort of) Nestlé Philippines‘ film festival. It contained 10 short films running approximately 10 minutes each, making 100 minutes in total. This is to commemorate their 100 Years of service. These so far have been the only Tagalog films I watched recently, Metanoia was the last film before them.

I had a series of interviews for another job that was up for grabs. Sometimes, a part of me is thinking of staying where I am while another part is just dying to get away. Even with such anxiety, I don’t plan on giving up. I guess I just have to move along and see how things turn out.

Dad said he’s been attending seminars about ADOBE and he’s having fun with it. I told him that I am very much accustomed to the software and I can even teach him a thing or two once he goes back home. He’s got bigger plans but (at the moment) I just want to use this tool to get my hobby going.

Ovation Chassis

Dada has a new work now and that becomes a worry for me. It is sometimes confusing since his aura is very much different when we’re talking over the phone and when we’re going out on dates. Even with his frequent mood swings, I don’t think any less of him. He came by our house and checked my PC’s status. After about four or so hours of tinkering, cleaning and testing four hard drives, two RAMs, two DVD-ROM drives, and three OS installers, he then concluded that it is the motherboard causing the problem. He said that the current may not be flowing smoothly thus causing a “short” somewhere. What I initially thought to be a simple hard drive failure turned out to be an entire CPU meltdown! I borrowed a sum from my Dad so I can buy a new unit and I promised to pay him right after I get my bonus. Dada called Mikel(his former colleague) to assemble a new rig for me. We met up with him in RET after another week. The weather was somehow on hour side as it didn’t rain the entire day. Mikel took about four hours to assemble and test everything out. My new rig’s specs: ASROCK N68C-S UCC / AMD ATHLON II 250 3GHz / Sapphire Radeon HD6670 / GSKILL 4GB DDR3-1333 / Western Digital 500GB HD / FSP Supersonic 600w Windows 7.  He included in the package most of the programs I need and Dada also copied two MMORPGs that his former colleagues recommended Forsaken World and Eden Eternal. We brought the new CPU home and Dada inserted a surviving component from my old unit — my DVD-ROM drive. Everything checks out and I am very pleased with the overall performance of my new rig. Forsaken World has the same heavy graphics as Allods yet I do not see any problems with the FPS. IT’S SO TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

Leave a Reply

