Cyber Predators ( warning : mature content ) . . .

Sex is a necessity of mankind. Degrees just vary as to why people study, practice and perfect it.

Sex is necessary for the survival of the human race, scientifically speaking. Most people 'make love' to express their feelings to their partners. Some people dive into it to feel acceptance. Some people do it because they are curious and they want to experience 'the tingling stuff'... and there are some who just can't control their sensual urges among other reasons. LoL!

Several weeks ago, I watched a show on cable TV entitled "Katie.com" which is about a girl named Katie Tarbox. She was a victim of an Internet pedophile — known nowadays as a "cyber predator".

"Five years ago, when I was 13, one of my favorite activities was to surf the Net
and make new friends. The Web was a welcoming place that made me feel
completely comfortable. That is, until I met Mark – a man who tricked me into
believing he was 23. We had a six-month online romance, ending when he lured
me into a hotel room and molested me. Police later told me he was really 41
and had a history of stalking young girls."
Katie Tarbox

When they did reenactments on the show, I pictured this girl as a part of me. I also have few friends IRL. I saw the Internet (and online games) as a medium to meet new and interesting people from all over the globe (and from all walks of life). I even met my boyfriend online!!! [story : click here]

I broke down when Katie started narrating the horrible things that happened to her inside the hotel room with the man she trusted (and probably loved) so much. That made me realize how lucky I am because Dada (my boyfriend) never took advantage of me.

I am not sure which Sky Cable channel featured Katie.com … It's either FOXCRIME, NatGeo or Discovery… I forgot! Anyway, after the girl's heart-breaking story, they showed a division of either the government or a local police department (I forgot too, really) whose job is to chat, meet-up then arrest cyber predators. There was a woman who acted as a bait and she disguised herself as a 14-year old boy (yes, b-o-y). She met up with a CP in a famous food joint (I think it was McDonald's). She was dressed so well that the old man didn't even realize that it's just a facade! LoL! The police arrested him after he walked out of the food joint with his 'potential victim'.

That was AWESOME! *two thumbs up*

Dada and I recently watched a show in CS-Origins (a channel on Destiny Cable) and it involved a non-profit organization called Perverted-Justice. Their stint is also to attract cyber predators to chat with their org volunteers (pretending to be teenagers in chatrooms) and hold an eyeball. They will lure the CPs into one of their rented houses then surprise them with interrogations and video footages of the 'potential crime'. They successfully invited about 18 CPs in two days! LoL! Super laugh-trip! I know that their intentions are just, but the execution is quite disturbing.

Anyway . . .

*****************************************************************************
TIPS ON HOW TO PREVENT CYBER PREDATORS
*****************************************************************************


1) Protect your Profile.

Any website, not just chatrooms, that features real-time interaction can have both predators and prey… I use the Yahoo Messenger to chat with my friends, colleagues and online buddies.

When I was just a newbie, my YM ID was made PUBLIC in the Yahoo Directory. I also had the habit of putting my Photos on the profile page. That attracted a lot of perverts who kept on buzzing me and asking me to actually MARRY them! Yes, if I am evil enough, I'd even post their YM ID.

Solution: I disabled the public feature in Yahoo so that my online status in their Directory will not be shown to anyone. I also make sure to add on my Contact List only the people I know and can fully trust. The contents on my websites are also filtered depending on the relation type I have with my contacts. The more personal stuff like home address, emails and phone numbers are limited to family, friends, and business contacts..

2) Choose your online buddies carefully.

If you enter a chat room just to make friends, make sure that your conversation doesn't go off-topic. Chat rooms have titles on them and normally, the subject revolves around it. E.g. Chatroom title is "Alternative Rock", obviously, you talk about the music genre so keep your discussions related to it. All else will just follow once you build trust with one another (and it takes time, believe me!). True-bloods will never inject anything not related to their chat room title, most of the time. Only posers do that!

3) Consider everyone you chat with for the first time as BIG FAT LIARS!

Not everyone can afford a webcam. LoL! So, if the person you're chatting with doesn't show his/her face real-time, consider him/her as an old fugly devil. Do not feel too comfortable unless there's another person or a group of people who can testify that he/she is trustworthy.

4) Tell yourself "Cyber Predators exist" before a fateful eyeball.

I am aware of maniacs lurking on the Internet. I know some girls who became pregnant because they had a one-night-stand with the men they met on a chatroom.

I still took my safety into consideration before having an eyeball with Dada. I informed my mom about this. She laughed when I told her that I was meeting my boyfriend for the first time. Hehe~!

It was a risky move to meet-up with him alone but I had my mind set to hugging the man that I would love for the rest of my life… I am so lucky he's not one of those cyber predators!

5) Do not give in to their wishes.

Lots of guys (and possibly some horny bitches) on the Internet will ask you to do things that you might not be comfortable doing. It's okay to say "NO"

I had bad experiences with webcams that's why I promised myself not make mine public ever again. A college batchmate added me to his friends list in YM and we had several nice chit-chat. After a while, he asked me to do erotic poses. Of course, I declined and I immediately blocked his YM ID. I heard from our common friends that he lost his two arms due to an accident — that is what I call KARMA!

6) If you sense it coming, then act QUICKLY!

I think this applies to all types of harassments, not just those due to CPs.

I've read so many articles and personal blog entries regarding well-endowed women who were sexually abused and/or teenage girls who become victims of statutory rape. They seek JUSTICE!

But honestly, part of the blame goes to them… and I just laugh at their weakness. Why?

If a canon ball is blasted in your direction, will you let it HIT you? NO. You will run away and do your very best EVADE it. Adrenaline rush!

Same goes for harassment. The reason why perverts exist is because women allow themselves to be victims.

If a potential cyber predator asks you to make out with him – in an isolated room, alone – and you know that you'd definitely regret it, would you still go in? Of course – not!

So the truth finally comes out… Your chatmate turns out to be older than what he states on your IM conversation. So he's really not gorgeous. So you find out that he's married and has kids!!!

Once the signs are smacking in your face, it's best to get out of there before anything nasty happens. That's the smartest thing to do!

Prevention is better than cure.

7) Don't be tongue-tied. Report it ASAP!

Okay, so libido rose and the harassment did happen.

So what now?

REPORT IT TO THE AUTHORITIES before he picks another victim like you!
.

*****************************************************************************

So there … *Ehem* these are just my opinion and two cents … what might be right for me might be sickening for you. That's why it's called "MY OPINION" … Anyway, thanks for reading.

*****************************************************************************
*****************************************************************************

References:

Katie Tarbox [link]
Perverted Justice [link]

*****************************************************************************



Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses to “Cyber Predators ( warning : mature content ) . . .

  1. If you do plan a F2F with someone, make it in a public area. Tell someone where you're going, and all the info you know about the person you plan to meet. Have a specified time to call & check-in. Have a innocent safety word/phrase which, depending upon prior agreement, means either "I'm okay" or "Call the police" when used in a convo… aka: "Yeah… everything's fine. I just wish I'd worn my other shoes"… could mean you're really okay, or that you're making the person you're with think you're getting rid of a caller when you're actually asking for help.

Leave a Reply

