Godzilla’s long lost kinfolk ? ! !

"Five young New Yorkers throw their friend a going-away party the night that a monster the size of a skyscraper descends upon the city. Told from the point of view of their video camera, the film is a document of their attempt to survive the most surreal, horrifying event of their lives." — Yahoo Movies

I recently told an officemate of mine that I watched "Quarantine" and he suggested that I watch Cloverfield. He even sold me his DVD for an uber low price and kept texting me as to what my thoughts on the movie were! Way before, I already read reviews about the film and its shaky camera technique (like Quarantine) but I didn't expect what was in store for me . . .

I think it's being a trend of horror flicks to use a documentary film approach to induce fear (made famous by the Blair Witch Project). It is an indication that these films have little or no budget at all! Maybe it does work since it brings that first-person feel similar to being in a computer role-playing game. Though, it has a lot of downsides especially on the audience's point of view. I had a minor headache while watching Cloverfield so I paused the dvd player once in a while.

This movie didn't give me the chills. I didn't feel any goosebumps. Nothing. I didn't think that anything there was realistic or can happen IRL. Why?

1) No civilian in his right mind will go straight into the line of fire just to save his beloved, let alone bring his friends with him on his suicidal mission. I even asked my boyfriend about it and we both agreed that it's better to let an EXPERT do the job rather than being all heroic, act stupid and get killed — that's what happened to them!

2) NASA can perfectly see asteroids miles and miles away from our home planet! Cloverfield is HUGE. I'm pretty sure that radars would detect it before it hits the city especially since it originated in the open waters of Manhattan.

3) Godzilla is acceptable because he was detected by sonars / radars. Reptiles are known to be agile, have fast reflexes and full of surprises.

4) The people were using a regular hand-held consumer videocam for documenting the events! How can something like that capture hi-res and non-pixellated moving images? Aside from that, the battery also didn't die even after all the pressure and constant ON-OFF switching! My handy cam's battery only lasts half a day on a hectic schedule. The only cameras I know that can withstand so much beating are those used when detonating old buildings and establishments! Yeah, sure. They might be using the camera of the "future" but the military troops used what I think is an awesome B-2 Spirit "Stealth Bomber" aircraft (a fighter plane from this generation that is said to be the most expensive aircraft in the US today) so no handycam can be that high-tech yet.

I give it :

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

